Books, Bikes, and Food

Reviews, Recipes, Rides… and some other things, too.

Book Day!

3 Comments

Every year on April 23, it’s St George’s Day. In Catalonia, this means it’s St Jordi‘s, not only one of the most important holidays, but also “el día del llivre” – the Day of the Book (UNESCO made it world book day in 1996). Traditionally, men give women roses, and women give men a book on this day. This year, Mr Liburuak and I decided it was time we joined the party. But did I want roses? Hell, no!* So we decided to scrap tradition and just give each other books.

I gave him this one (I’m on a mission to educate him in great German literature):

And I got this (after my not really taking to Paul Auster in the first attempt, he decided I had to give the man the benefit of the doubt):

I think St Jordi’s is a great tradition that should be spread!

* Before anyone gets me wrong, that’s not to say I wouldn’t accept roses on any other given day 😉

Author: bettinathenomad

Nomadic fan of books, food, the outdoors, and water. International Relations geek. Chlorine is my perfume.

3 thoughts on “Book Day!

  1. Pingback: Paul Auster: Leviathan (1992) | Liburuak

  2. Pingback: What I’ve been up to | Liburuak

  3. Pingback: St Jordi’s 2013 – Books, Bikes, and Food! | Books, Bikes, and Food

Leave a Reply

