Books, Bikes, and Food

Reviews, Recipes, Rides… and some other things, too.

Bookshop Heaven in Barcelona

Leave a comment

I’m in Barcelona for a conference at the moment, and while yesterday was spent hustling and attending panel sessions all day, this morning I took some time off to do stuff. I finally went to Fundació Miró, a great museum that sits atop Montjuïc and has a beautiful view over the city. And, how could it be otherwise, I went book shopping – and walked straight into the miracle of La Central. They have several bookshops around, but the branch I stumbled into was La Central del Raval  –  one of the most awesome bookshops I’ve ever been to. Located centrally on Carrer d’Elisabets, it is a haven of tranquility in the middle of bustling Barcelona. From Catalan literature to a fantastic section on Cinema, you name it – it’s there.

Seriously, if you’re a book geek in Barcelona, you can’t afford to give La Central a miss. I can’t even begin to describe the amazingness.

Of course, I principally played in the Latin American and Spanish literature sections, and this is what I acquired (apologies for the awful quality, it was taken with my crappy mobile phone camera):

I only allowed myself to buy one book, so picking one took some time. I finally settled on Augusto Roa Bastos’s Yo, el Supremo (English: I, the Supreme) – a novel of the Latin American boom that deals with the dictatorship of  José Gaspar Rodríguez de Francia (Dr. Francia) in 19th Century Paraguay. (Yes, a ‘dictators of Latin America and the Caribbean‘ obsession appears to be rapidly catching on.) I can’t wait to start reading!

Author: bettinathenomad

Nomadic fan of books, food, the outdoors, and water. International Relations geek. Chlorine is my perfume.

Leave a Reply

