Books, Bikes, and Food

Reviews, Recipes, Rides… and some other things, too.

Forthcoming: Actúa

5 Comments

Today, I’m very excited to tell you about a book that is about to come out in Spain on 12 April. It’s called Actúa (Act), it’s edited by Rosa María Artal, and it’s a sequel to the collection of essays entitled Reacciona, (React) which sold very well in Spain. Actúa, like Reacciona, is about the current Spanish economic crisis. It takes a practical approach: what’s wrong with Spain and what could be done about it?

Actúa includes essays by some important Spanish public figures, including Baltasar Garzón, the former judge at the Audiencia Nacional responsible for the international warrant that got Chilean ex-dictator Augusto Pinochet arrested.

Why am I talking about this book here? Well… I’m very proud to announce that Mr Liburuak has co-authored a chapter (my claim to fame by proxy)! It’s on the current dreary situation of Spanish science policy, on why investment into science and innovation are vital, and on how they could help Spain get out of the crisis in the long term.

If you read Spanish, keep your eyes peeled for Actúa, published by Editorial Debate. It should be very exciting.

Author: bettinathenomad

Nomadic fan of books, food, the outdoors, and water. International Relations geek. Chlorine is my perfume.

5 thoughts on “Forthcoming: Actúa

  1. How exciting for you! It sounds like an important book, too.

  2. Oh, I will definitely keep an eye out for this one. I really need to keep reading in Spanish, since I don’t use it much in my daily life and I’m very interested in the economic situation in Spain. I lived in Spain for about a month last October and I lived with a family in Granada. In the apartment at any given time was my house mom, her daughter and her daughter’s boyfriend, and their daughter. (We watched a lot of Bob Esponja together.) While my house mom was doing ok financially, her daughter was traveling around the country trying to find work in vineyards. It was very difficult for her and her boyfriend to find steady work in any one location, so their daughter lived with her grandmother. That was over a year ago now and I wish I had kept in touch, just to see how they are doing.

    • I’m so glad you want to read it! The story of your host family sounds very typical of what a lot of families in Spain are experiencing, especially in the South, where the economic situation is especially dire.
      I don’t know if you have an e-reader, but you can buy it through the US Amazon shop now.

Leave a Reply

