Books, Bikes, and Food

Reviews, Recipes, Rides… and some other things, too.

Dressing Right for Cycling… or Not

Leave a comment

As I’ve discovered over the years, you can bike in most clothes one way or another (you might be less comfortable in some than in others, but only very tight skirts tend to be a real problem). Most days, I watch the weather forecast, pick an outfit, and hop on. Unless it’s actively raining and more than drizzling, in which case I opt for the bus to get me to work, or in case I have luggage with me. As long as you’ve got some layers you can take off or put on, you’ll be fine most of the time. A jacket and scarf will normally do the trick in the spring. Suit jackets can also be taken off if it gets really toasty.

But sometimes, you just can’t get it right. This happened to me on Tuesday, when I got it wrong both ways: I was dressed both for too cold and for too warm weather. How? You see, Hamburg loves to play little weather tricks on poor, unsuspecting cyclists. On Tuesday morning, I had to attend an event on the other side of town that required suiting up. It also more than doubled my commute from 2.5k to about 8k. So far this year, it’s still been quite chilly in the mornings, but on Tuesday the first thing I did upon leaving my house was to take off the coat and scarf I was wearing. Even so, as I pedalled along, I got quite warm and had to go slow to avoid getting really sweaty. This is what the weather was like:

It was amazing: pretty much an early summer day. By the time I got to the event, I was hot but happy, and feeling really smug because I’d gotten there much faster than I would have by public transport!

Who would have thought that by 7:30pm the same day I’d be biking home shivering in the cold? Well, that’s exactly what happened. During the afternoon, we got thunderstorms and the temperature dropped considerably. Fortunately, by the time I left work it had stopped raining, so on went the coat and scarf. But I was still cold! What can you do? Sometimes the weather just won’t play along. I really appreciated my warm meal once I got home.

Author: bettinathenomad

Nomadic fan of books, food, the outdoors, and water. International Relations geek. Chlorine is my perfume.

Leave a Reply

