Books, Bikes, and Food

Reviews, Recipes, Rides… and some other things, too.

5 Seconds

8 Comments

Today, I was happily cycling along to work on what was a beautiful summer morning. I crossed a traffic light and then stopped at a second one to turn at a pretty busy crossing. Suddenly, I heard a scream and an almighty crash. The cyclist who was crossing the light I’d just passed (it was green, of course) had been hit by a car turning right. Someone quickly called an ambulance and those people who had been there when it happened gave testimony to the police (including myself).

She was fine, but she’d had a shock, and her bike wasn’t in a very good state. She was incredibly lucky. I felt awful for her, but I also couldn’t help thinking that it would’ve been me under that car if I’d crossed the street just 5 seconds later. It was a chilling thought.

As I was riding back from work in the evening, the lines the police had drawn on the street to detail how it had happened were still there.

Cyclists, be careful out there! Not every driver looks out when turning a corner, apparently.

Author: bettinathenomad

Nomadic fan of books, food, the outdoors, and water. International Relations geek. Chlorine is my perfume.

8 thoughts on “5 Seconds

  1. That is scary! I’m glad she was OK. Accidents and near-accidents definitely leave you shaky.

  2. This is really scary. Glad to know that you are okay and the cyclist who got affected is okay too. I used to cycle a lot during my student days and loved it but when a scary moment like this comes along it really affects us.

  3. Oh, dear. I was recently in a car accident that we walked away from, essentially because I was slow to go once my light turned green. Everyone kept telling me how lucky I was, and I understood it on a logical level, but since then I have mostly just felt fragile. Like you said, though, you still have to get back in the car or back on the bike and go. You can’t live afraid of these things. I’m so glad that the other cyclist was okay!

Leave a Reply

