Books, Bikes, and Food

Reviews, Recipes, Rides… and some other things, too.

Recipe: Gazpacho

1 Comment

It was my birthday last Saturday, the last one before I officially turn old next year. (Although thanks to a 15 year-old from my sports club, who steadfastly refused to believe I was any older than 21, I can still safely claim I just turned 22.) Luckily, summer decided to celebrate with me and bow out on a high – it was hot and sunny, the last day before autumn arrived on Sunday. I’d invited some friends over, and to go with the weather I fed them gazpacho (and chili, and Mr Liburuak made a Spanish omelette and a fantastic pasta salad that I’ll very likely talk about another day). This cold Spanish tomato soup is fantastic for hot evenings, and also later on in the year as a starter before you tuck into your autumnal comfort food of choice.

I used this recipe and doubled the quantities.

Ingredients (serves four to six as a starter)

  • 6 large, meaty tomatoes
  • 1 cucumber
  • 2 green bell peppers
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 onion
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2 slices of white bread without the crust
  • salt
  • olive oil
  • white wine vinegar

Place the bread slices on a deep plate and cover with water, a pinch of salt, and a drizzle of olive oil. Set aside. Peel the cucumber. Chop the tomatoes, cucumber, peppers, onion and garlic and place them in a large plastic bowl for puréeing or in a blender. Add a little bit of water and puree them. Add the slice of bread and keep pureeing or blending until the gazpacho has a creamy texture. Pour through a colander to eliminate the pieces of peel and tomato seeds floating around (this step will be a bit messy, but the gazpacho will be so much creamier after). Add vinegar and salt to taste. Chill the gazpacho in the fridge. Before serving, drizzle a few drops of olive oil and sprinkle some diced cucumber on top. Enjoy!

Author: bettinathenomad

Nomadic fan of books, food, the outdoors, and water. International Relations geek. Chlorine is my perfume.

One thought on “Recipe: Gazpacho

  1. I nominated you for the Liebster Award!
    Check out my post for further details:
    http://manolosmeals.wordpress.com/2013/10/08/liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

